Merry Christmas to All!

I know the title is not PC so if you celebrate another type of holiday feel free to substitute your own title. But for me, it’s Christmas. Always has been, always will be. I love, love, love this time of year, though I admit living on the central California coast it’s not as exciting as it could be. I am filled with envy at Book Maven and want to know where she lives. Because it is my dream to live in a place with a scene like that.

I assure you that the Los Angeles smog has not drifted north far enough to have gotten to my brain. I have always loved cold and rain and fog and snow. I thrive in winter, rejoice in cold, come alive at the sight and smell and sound and feel of the white season. No doubt there are a number of you who would trade places with me in a second. Santa Barbara is known as the “Nice” of the United States, but you know what? I am not enthralled with it.

I think bookshelves and reading, and writing for and editing an online publication are made for quiet nights at home. Wool blankets and flannel sheets, feet encased in warm socks, an oversized New Yorker cartoon sweatshirt for a nightshirt, cats draped on me, and a book in my lap could not be bested even by the ocean air and crash of the waves at high tide.

So I think this multi-generational (second on one side, fourth on the other) California native will be getting out of the state in 2010. At least I am going to try my darndest. And if I succeed the picture I show next year at this time might very well be my own yard.

8 Comments

Filed under BiblioBuffet

8 responses to “Merry Christmas to All!

  1. I’m about to embark tomorrow from the beautiful LA weather to feet of snow in NYC… Wish me luck and Merry Christmas!

  2. I love a change of seasons too. I don’t get that type of view in my back yard anymore but in only an hours drive I can visit it. One of my daughters lives in Bend, OR and loves that there are only two seasons there. Summer and Winter.

  3. I miss Christmas in the snow, too. I love the Bay Area, but wish I were back home in Michigan for the holidays. The only thing missing from this picture is the hot chocolate:

    “Wool blankets and flannel sheets, feet encased in warm socks, an oversized New Yorker cartoon sweatshirt for a nightshirt, cats draped on me, and a book in my lap.”

  4. Rachel

    Merry Christmas, Lauren! I wish I could send you snow, but, alas, we have none here in Florida’s panhandle. May your realize all your snowy dreams in the next year.

Leave a Reply

